Stairway to Heaven

#StairsPhotography of 3C Style by Darren Sleep, The Arty Plantsman

There are songs that transcend generations. Music, lyrics and interpretation make them immortal. Stairways to Heaven, Led Zeppelin’s most famous song, is one of them. 

There’s a lady who’s sure
All that glitters is gold
And she’s buying a stairway to heaven
When she gets there she knows
If the stores are all closed
With a word she can get what she came for
Oh oh oh oh and she’s buying a stairway to heaven
There’s a sign on the wall
But she wants to be sure
‘Cause you know sometimes words have two meanings
In a tree by the brook
There’s a songbird who sings
Sometimes all of our thoughts are misgiving
Ooh, it makes me wonder
Ooh, it makes me wonder
There’s a feeling I get
When I look to the west
And my spirit is crying for leaving
In my thoughts I have seen
Rings of smoke through the trees
And the voices of those who standing looking
Ooh, it makes me wonder
Ooh, it really makes me wonder
And it’s whispered that soon, If we all call the tune
Then the piper will lead us to reason
And a new day will dawn
For those who stand long
And the forests will echo with laughter
If there’s a bustle in your hedgerow
Don’t be alarmed now
It’s just a spring clean for the May queen
Yes, there are two paths you can go by
But in the long run
There’s still time to change the road you’re on
And it makes me wonder
Your head is humming and it won’t go
In case you don’t know
The piper’s calling you to join him
Dear lady, can you hear the wind blow
And did you know
Your stairway lies on the whispering wind
And as we wind on down the road
Our shadows taller than our soul
There walks a lady we all know
Who shines white light and wants to show
How everything still turns to gold
And if you listen very hard
The tune will come to you at last
When all are one and one is all
To be a rock and not to roll
And she’s buying the stairway to heaven
Lyrics courtesy of Lyricfind / Songwriters: Jimmy Page & Robert Plant

Song Facts 

— The following information was written by Songfacts. 

Deserty Travel Tips (13)Deserty Travel Tips (14)Deserty Travel Tips (15)

In The True Meaning of Led Zeppelin’s Stairway to Heaven, Dario Giardi writes:

Deserty Travel Tips (16)

No more words needed —except perhaps, Amen.

My dear and talented friend Sarah at Art Expedition is hosting a music challenge for the month of June, 30 Days, 30 Songs. This is another contribution to her challenge (See my first contribution: 30 Inspiring Songs — My Playlist On Spotify). Also see Sarah’s latest song choice, HERE.
02-stay-strong-web
Let’s stay connected: Bloglovin – Instagram @3cstyle_fashion

If you liked this post, you’ll love these

Happy Earth Day – 15 Simple Ways to help Save The Planet
 Our Heart of Birch Collection on Threadless
DIY: Upcycling An Army Coat
Clean Style Around The House copy (ERA+HeartBirch)

  1. Another great song that’s also on my playlist. I like the background information you provided with it. I spent a large part of my youth trying to figure out the meaning to the lyrics of many different songs including Stairway to Heaven. Cheers.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Sorry for my late response Chris. I had not seen your comment. I am like you and often wonder about the meaning to some lyrics. I was surprise to hear about the controversy related to this song. I was young at the time and got introduced to Stairway to Heaven much later. Have a beautiful weekend. It’s the weekend of the Saint-Jean Baptiste here in Quebec. Lots of music bands and artists will be performing. Yay!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. It’s so hard to catch all the comments. I have the same difficulties. It sounds like a fun weekend north of the border. Enjoy it. We are going to see Cirque du Soleil’s Corteo on Sunday. Cheers!

      Liked by 1 person

    3. Ooh, that’s great. I love the Cirque du Soleil. One of my dear friend works there. I have not seen the Corteo show, but heard they were truly heartwarming scenes and clowning moments in this production. Hope you’ll have a great time Chris.

      Liked by 1 person

    4. Thank you. A friend has been to most of the traveling shows and said she really enjoyed this one. That’s so cool to have a friend in Cirque du Soleil. The talent of the cast astounds me.

      Liked by 1 person

    5. We just returned from the performance. It was wonderful. They clearly put so much effort into creating unique performances using the highest quality artists. There is so much sight and sound that it’s almost overwhelming. Cheers!

      Liked by 1 person

    6. So glad you had a good time and enjoyed the show. I just got back from my dad and I had a wonderful time. It is so nice to have the chance to spent some quality time with him. Cheers Chris!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I knew some of the lyrics but I had no idea about the history either. I just thought it fit so well with the song, and me looking at the roof makes it a bit dreamy. Love this photo!

      Like

  2. I really like this song, both words and music. I am not a big fan of Led Zep but this song is one of the three exceptions. (The other two are Kashmir and When the Levee breaks, in case you were wondering)

    This shoot was great fun. The lady at the desk outside seemed rather suspicious that we were a gang of international book thieves though 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m not a big fan of Led Zippelin either but like you I like the other two songs as well. So funny how much we have in common. It still surprises me! Yes, the lady at the desk was dedicated to her job. 😄 I admire that!

      Like

    1. You are so sweet. Thanks you. I appreciate that you took the time to stop by my site. I know how busy you are Sabina, so I take this as a great compliment. xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha… Reminds me of the year my son tried to learn trombone despite his asthma. Oh my, it was painful. Thankfully, he switched to piano and was a lot better.

      Liked by 2 people

    2. Hehe. My brother in law was advised to learn the clarinet because of his asthma — apparently it helped (the asthma at least). He switched to guitar eventually for the sake of his listeners.

      Liked by 2 people

    3. I dough very much that you are a terrible guitarist. You are a talented and versatile artist. But I’m guessing probably a little too critical about your art. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Oh, I love this song. I was singing it in my head as I was reading the words. You’re right, it does transcend generations.
    How uncanny also that my next post starts with the full lyrics to a song as well. Once more my friend we’re aligned and on the same page. Wonderful post, song and background info. Cheers and enjoy the rest of your weekend. xx

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Wow there is so much meaning behind your image and behind the lyrics. I totally agree with caring more for others and nature and this world would transform in a much better place instantly I also believe that we are changing for the better and become more and more aware of our surroundings and our responsibilities in this wonderful world we live in. Have a lovely weekend my beautiful friend xoxo Cris

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree with you Cris. Some efforts have been made in recent years to protect our planet, but there is still much to be done and, unfortunately, I have not seen real political change. Have a wonderful weekend too. 💕

      Like

  5. Such an epic song really, and I love that you’ve let us know about the meaning and background too! I had no idea! I’m sure I will always think of Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings from now on whenever I hear it (I love both The Hobbit and LotR). 😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment